18 January 2017

It was great to welcome a large number of members at this year's AGM on Sunday 15 January 2017 chaired by Patric Foley-Brickley.

Once again our AGM was held at the historic Queens (tennis) Club, London and proved to be a great opportunity to network with those within the sport out of season.  As well as dealing with the formal Company business there was an opportunity to celebrate the successes of the season - both our athletes and the volunteers who make the sport "run on the ground".  It was welcome to see a good attendance and a very big thank you to all the clubs, volunteers, award recipients and staff members who attended to make this a notable success.  Thank you also to Queens Club who provide the facility at a very subsidised rate and all the staff who are so attentive.

Below is a list of those who were granted an award this year - thank you for all of the applicants we received for each award and congratulations to those that won . . .

The Lascelles Junior Trophy -
Tom Heaps

tom heaps

The Lascelles Open Trophy -
David Small

David Small



2016 World Open Barefoot Champion Award -

David Small 

 David Small


Young Volunteer of the Year -
Charlotte Wharton

 Charlotte Wharton


Volunteer of the Year - 
Matt Mills

 Matt Mills

Honorary Members

The following members were awarded Honorary Membership of British Water Ski & Wakeboard in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the sport over many years…

Tony Green Current Advisory Council Chairman, former Director of BWSF Ltd and a lifetime of involvement in development matters at national level including Chair of the Recreation & Development Committee, Environment Committee and Kneeboard Committee member.  Tony is also very active regionally and at club level with Humber Bridge WSC and has had many years involvement in coaching as a course tutor and examiner.
Derek Rasey Current Tournament Committee member, former Regional Chairman, former Director of BWSF Ltd and one of the longest serving Tournament Officials / Chief Judges, demonstrating a lifelong service to the sport.
Steve Sopp Current BWSW Vice Chairman, long serving Board member and Chair of the Tournament Committee.  Steve has been active within the sport since the early 1970s at both recreational level across a number of disciplines and with key involvement in UK Sport and World Class elite programmes over many years. A long term Club Chairman at Wiremill WSC, Team Captain and Tournament supporter he has demonstrated a lifetime of service to the sport.

The General Lascelles Memorial Grants

In memory of our former Honorary President the Lascelles Trust awards a number of grants each year to young talented athletes. The list of awards granted can be seen below. . .

Full Name 2016 award
Arron Davies (Tournament) £250
Brooke Beamond (Cable 3 Event) £250
Rory Kirkland (Racing) £250
Amber Butterfield (Tournament) £500
Emma Scutt (Tournament) £500
Joseph Humphries (Cable & Boat Wakeboard) £500
Lucy Roberts (Tournament) £500
Luke Pearson (Wakeboard) £500
Matthew Rowland (Tournament) £500
Melissa Lock (Wakeboard) £500
Nathan Darby (Boat Wakeboard) £500
Ben Turp (Tournament) £750
Hannah Bird (Racing) £750
Katie Nutt (Tournament) £750
Lauren Bird (Racing) £750
Luca Kidd (Boat Wakeboard) £750
Mitchell Wise (Wakeboard) £750
Sarah Bennett (Racing) £750
Tom Heaps (Barefoot) £1000

Lascelles grant winners 2017