International Certificate of Competence (ICC)

International Certificate of Competence (ICC)

Who is it for?
The International Certificate of Competence (ICC) is a certificate that offers proof of competence to operate pleasure craft (including towed water sports) in international waters and is issued to anyone who has passed the BWSW Ski Boat Driver Level 2. The additional supplementary inland waters endorsement can also be added by taking a short course and completing a multichoice question paper. Is accepted by countries that have adopted the relevant UN Resolution number 40, the ICC is generally accepted in any area where proof of competence is required.

BWSW is permitted to issue the ICC to British nationals and residents. You are a British national, or if you are one of the following:

  • A British citizen
  • A British Overseas Territories citizen
  • A British overseas citizen
  • A British national (overseas)
  • A British subject
  • A British protected person

BWSW is not permitted to issue the ICC to the nationals of other UNECE countries unless they are British residents.

What is involved?

  • The SBD2 is a coastal qualification which gives access to the COASTAL ICC.
  • The ICC can be applied for after passing the SBD2, or at any time after, by completing an application form, there is no need to complete any additional question paper.
  • To obtain the International Certificate of Competence (ICC) for coastal waters, candidates will need to pass the BWSW SBD2, then apply for the ICC. An endorsement for inland waters in Europe can be added to the ICC by taking a supplementary Inland Waters test (CENI regulations). This can be taken at the same time as the SBD2 coastal course or it can be added at a later date.

Related documents

  1. ICC Renewal Form

    9 Jun 2021 / 36kb

    ICC Renewal Application Form